Author: Lee, Michael



The number of times head coach Brian Kelly has won the Home Depot Coach of the Year Award (annually awarded to college football’s top head coach) in his career. Incredibly, Kelly is currently the only coach to win this prestigious award multiple times (2009, 2012, 2018).



Graduate student linebacker Drue Tranquill, who wore No. 23 for the Irish, won the Wuerffel Trophy in 2018; he is also the first Notre Dame football player to receive this award. Each year, the college football player “who best combines exemplary community service with athletic and academic achievement” receives this trophy.



After beating Stanford, Navy, and USC, Notre Dame proudly possesses all six rivalry trophies. They include the Legends Trophy (from beating Stanford), the Jeweled Shillelagh (from beating USC), the Rip Miller Trophy (from beating Navy), the Megaphone Trophy (from beating Michigan State in 2017), the Leahy Memorial Bowl (from beating Boston College in 2017) and the Shillelagh (from beating Purdue in 2014).



During the 2018 regular football season, the Notre Dame football team did not lose any games. A significant achievement, given that the football program has not had an undefeated, unvacated season since 1988. The Irish hope to build upon that success in 2019.